Admin

School-Year Calendar

Limestone Learning Foundation

The School-Year Calendar for the following school year is decided in the spring of the previous school year. Provincial regulations require that the school year shall start on or after September 1 and end on or before June 30. Every school year shall include a minimum of 194 school days.

Every year, Limestone parents and community partners (day cares, municipalities, public health, business associations, etc.) are invited to provide survey input on the School Year Calendar before it is submitted to the Board of Trustees and the Ministry of Education for approval.

2020-2021 School Year Calendar

The first day of school for students for the 2020-2021 school year will be Thursday, September 3, 2020. There will be three Professional Activity (PA) Days for staff to prepare for the new school year on Monday, August 31, Tuesday, September 1 and Wednesday, September 2.

These changes mean there are now three fewer PA Days throughout the school year. The remaining PA days will take place on September 25, 2020, January 29, 2021, June 4, 2021, and June 25, 2021.

Provincial Regulation 304: School Year Calendar requires the following school holidays:

  • Every Saturday and Sunday
  • Labour Day – Monday, September 7, 2020
  • Thanksgiving Day – Monday, October 12, 2020
  • 14 consecutive days for December Break – December 21, 2020 to January 1, 2021 inclusive
    Family Day – Monday, February 15, 2021
  • 5 consecutive days for March Break – NEW dates due to Ministry of Education postponement Monday, April 12 to Friday, April 16, 2021 inclusive
  • Good Friday – Friday, April 2, 2021
  • Easter Monday – Monday, April 5, 2021
  • Victoria Day – Monday, May 24, 2021

Professional Activity Days

  • Monday, August 31, 2020
  • Tuesday, September 1, 2020
  • Wednesday, September 2, 2020
  • Friday, September 25, 2020
  • Friday, January 29, 2021
  • Friday, June 4, 2021
  • Friday, June 25, 2021

Secondary Block/Octomester Timetable 

  • Block 1/Period 1: August 31-October 8, 2020
  • Block 1 Exam/Culminating: October 8, 2020

  • Block 2/Period 2: October 9-November 11, 2020
  • Block 2 Exam/Culminating: November 11, 2020

  • Block 3/Period 3: November 12-December 14, 2020
  • Block 3 Exam/Culminating: December 14

  • Block 4/Period 4: December 15, 2020-January 28, 2021
  • Block 4 Exam/Culminating: January 28, 2021

Please note changes to Blocks 5, 6, 7 & 8 due to postponement of March Break

  • Block 5/Period 5: February 1-March 3, 2021
  • Block 5 Exam/Culminating: March 4, 2021
  • Block 6/Period 6: March 5-April 7, 2021
  • Block 6 Exam/Culminating: April 8, 2021

  • Block 7/Period 7: April 9-May 17, 2021
  • Block 7 Exam/Culminating: May 18, 2021

  • Block 8/Period 8: May 19-June 21, 2021
  • Block 8 Exam/Culminating: June 22, 2021



The Limestone District School Board is situated on traditional territories of the Anishinaabe & Haudenosaunee.